Daily Archives: June 9th, 2012

Day One: My Introduction to Retirement

Retirement. What a concept. One day I just decided I was done dealing with bratty teenagers and their delusional parents and I wanted to be able to go on vacation in the spring and the fall. After that it was easy.

The first thing that people ask when one decides to retire is, “What are you going to do?” My answer is, “I’m a photojournalist and I’m going to write a book.” Before one can write a book, however, one must have material, so I decided to chronicle the first year of retirement. I’ve created a new blog and will freely co-mingle my postings with my other blog, Got My Reservations, as well as my Facebook page

One of my first tasks in retirement will be to create a new design format for Retirement 365, so I decided to take a quote from one of my favorite movies, Under the Tuscan Sun, and misuse it for my own intent. I’m not sure whether Audrey Wells or Frances Mayes actually wrote it, because I can’t find my well-thumbed copy of the book.

The trick to overcoming buyer’s remorse is to have a plan. Pick one room and make it yours. Go slowly through the house. Be polite. Introduce yourself so it can introduce itself to you.

So that’s my plan. I’m going to take retirement slowly and let it introduce itself to me, one day at a time. And I’ll take you along on my journey.

Enhanced by Zemanta
