Day Four: Photography

When the prospect of retiring became real, so did my taste for real photography. Around our house, Music Man has been the designated photographer for years, and I tagged along with my pocket point-and-shoot. Since I hate getting my own photo taken, this wasn’t a good setup for an empty nested couple. One’s albums can only hold so many pictures of architecture and scenery, and we have thousands of faceless photos in our archive. This one was taken at Ightham Mote outside of Sevenoaks, England, but who would know that?

After consultation with photo-intelligent friends, I purchased a dealer refurbished Canon Rebel T3i DSLR at a great price. The box didn’t even look like it had ever been opened and camera has worked just fine. I’m sold! The camera came with an 18-55mm lens, and I shopped telephoto lenses until I found the Tamron AF18-270mm at a good price. Tamrom is running a rebate through June 30 if you buy from an authorized dealer. They have other lenses on this rebate as well, so if you’re looking for a special lens, it’s worth pricing out.

Having a real camera has been a mixed blessing. My friends and my friends’ kids are already tired of me having a camera in their faces at every event. I carry it around all the time and I’m on my third camera bag — I want a bag that doesn’t scream camera’s in here, and I’ll probably end up making one myself. Maybe there’s a new career in camera bags that also don’t scream I’m a tourist in Europe.

I was going through a stack of papers in my office (see yesterday’s post) and I ran across a cartoon that my cousin sent when she heard about my new retirement hobby/vocation. It is so very perfect that I couldn’t resist sharing it. She doesn’t even know that I’m a nut for all things Tudor as well. 🙂

One response

  1. Re: Camera bag. Take a look at the Tamrac Aria 6. It has room for a camera with a lens mounted, another lens and either a flash or third lens. Also has a pocket for an iPad or other tablet. Comes in several colors but no Vera Bradley prints yet.

Leave a Reply

