Day Fifteen: The Best Retirement Movie I’ve Ever Seen

I guess I do have a life after all.

I’m trying to settle into a writing rhythm for Retirement 365 and Got My Reservations, but writing every single day, even in retirement, is proving difficult. So, apparently, is doing everything else I want to do. I keep telling myself that I have not weeks or months, but years to get some of this stuff done. I do have house guests coming in just one month, so I actually need to get quite a bit done before they arrive. Can’t wait for the visiting to start, though!

But movies on the big screen don’t wait for retirement.

We’ve been trying to find time to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel since it came out in theaters, but either the youngish company we were keeping or our activities interfered with getting to see it. I really wanted to see it on the big screen since it is set in India and the previews promised fabulous exotic scenes.

My friends and I are definitely the target market for this movie.

In fact, a couple of the people I saw this with are in their early fifties, and they were most definitely the youngest people in the audience. Most of the audience were people who had let their hair go grey, if you know what I mean. That doesn’t mean young people won’t love the movie, but it will hit home more poignantly with those of us who are on the dark side of fifty.

With seven decorated and experienced British actors and a beautifully nuanced, witty script, how could this film go wrong?

The all-star British cast includes Dame Maggie Smith, Ronald Pickup, Bill Nighy, Penelope Wilton, Celia Imrie, Dame Judy Dench and Tom Wilkinson. Dev Patel also stars as the innkeeper and manager of the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

Since you already know that I hate to write summaries of books and movies because they give away the story, I’m going to give you the bare bones. You can click into the link above if you want more plot. 🙂

The main story of Marigold Hotel revolves around seven retirees who decide to “outsource” their retirement and move to an Indian palace that has been converted to a retirement community. The hotel has seen better days but is located in exotic Jaipur and each of the characters deals with the new situation differently. It’s charming and just a little sexy — with a lot of laugh-out-loud one-liners.

If you are a fan of Love Actually, Four Weddings and a Funeral, or any other ensemble cast movie, and you’re willing to see retirees as people who want to have fun in retirement, then be sure to catch The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel before it leaves the theaters. I absolutely loved it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 responses

  1. It already left the theaters around us. Darn. Looks like we have to wait for Netflicks.

    1. We all agreed that we would watch it again in the comfort of our family room when it comes out on Netflix.

  2. one of the best movies ever. i saw it twice and i’d see it again.

    1. I’m willing to go again too. Great big-screen movie.

Leave a Reply

