Day Nineteen: Out of the Bread Box Part 2

Baking bread on a hot summer day? Am I crazy?

But I promised. We found the dough pan and I thought about making whole wheat bread in the bread machine. Fortunately I received an interventional comment from my niece (Vanderbilt Wife), who told me that she inherited the matching bread machine about ten years ago from her mother. That means her mother had used the bread machine enough to decide to pass it on. That also makes it probably fifteen years old. (I was right about my mom giving us all a bread machine one year for Christmas! We also all got turkey roasters another year.) It was time to retire the old bread machine because it didn’t work for Donna or Jessica either.

I decided to use the quick bread recipe and make it with my own hands.

I found all those nuts and seeds and decided to use the pomegranate berry soda. How bad could it be?

The recipe says mix the dry ingredients together really well, but I just had to take a photo first with the seeds all sprinkled on the top. Pretty.

The dough was quite stiff and I added a couple of extra tablespoons of soda.

As the comments in the original recipe say, the temperature in the recipe is Celcius. In American ovens, it’s 390 degrees. I took it out of the oven at 47 minutes.

Not unexpectedly, since the recipe only called for 1 teaspoon of baking powder, the bread didn’t rise very much and is quite dense. Yummo!, as Rachael Ray would say.

The minute Music Man walked in the door after work, he spied the bread on the rack and said, “Can I have some of this?” It was half gone by the end of dinner. It tasted healthy, with just a hint of sweetness. I’m planning to have some for lunch tomorrow with egg salad. Yummo again.

Initially I thought I would want to make it rise more to be more puffy. Now I’m not so sure. It’s just really good the way it is.

You may have noticed that the ingredients photo included this bag of dark chocolate chips. Since my intention was to make a healthy loaf, I didn’t put the chips in my bread, but I couldn’t resist a little snack of this wonderful dark chocolate.

After all, isn’t every day a chocolate day? And isn’t dark chocolate supposed to be good for my heart? I know it’s good for my mood.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses

  1. That looks delicious. I bet it would be good with pb & j also.

    1. I thought so too. Want to go to the movies??

Leave a Reply

