Day Twenty Seven: Retro Images and Retro Thinking

The idea of being a stay-at-home spouse is kind out of my conceptual wheelhouse.

When I picked up the 1950s wallpaper and housewifely image for this blog, it was a tongue in cheek reference to my upcoming 60th birthday. I was born during the post-war craze to get all the women back in the kitchen where they “belonged.” Thank goodness we decided that how a woman and her family chooses to live life isn’t up to anyone but them. I’m not judging what other wives do nor am I apologizing for what I chose to do with my life.

Still, the gravitational pull toward my home has been pretty strong over the last few years. With the recent deaths of four parents, we’ve got a lot to deal with, both emotionally and financially — and a lot of their stuff to deal with, too. I am relishing being at home and am learning a new normal for me as a wife, mother, and homemaker. So far it’s great!

One of my favorite musical allusions to being a housewife occurs in Little Shop of Horrors. You already know I love satire, and this is one of the best. I hope you have “somewhere that’s green” in your life.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response

  1. I’m only a few years ahead of you and the wallpaper background and poster art bring back a lot of memories. Love your sense of humor of the perfect housewife in your clip. I always wanted the perfect Betters Homes and Garden house but never was the Miss Susey Sunshine housekeeper. Too many more important things to do than keep house and iron clothes.

    Love your new blog. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

