Day 48: Life’s Little Annoyances

Okay. I admit it. I’m kind of a nut about grammar and word usage.

One of the things I do while at home doing chores is to watch HGTV and I’m sometimes annoyed by imprecise language used by the hosts. Really? Isn’t someone listening and then making these people do a retake of the scene?

The trident kind of looks like this. Image Credit

Today on House Crashers (not my favorite show anyway), the homeowners own a very large trident spear.

I don’t know why; they have weapons and a goat. To each his own.

What really bothers me is that the host keeps calling it a triton.

Yeah — even my spell check doesn’t like that.

Just so we’re clear, Poseidon, the god of the sea, carries a trident. So does his son, Triton.

But I’m pretty sure you already knew this. After all, you read and write. A lot.

I think the moral of this story is that I watch too much television, but I’m willing to put up with a few petty annoyances to keep my brain occupied during mind-numbing ironing.

Why I’m ironing my pillowcases is a story for another day of Retirement 365.

Thanks for listening while I rant. 🙂 And don’t forget to visit my other blog, Got My Reservations.

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 responses

  1. Best retirement advice for the moment–QUIT IRONING PILLOWCASES!

    1. Even if it’s for the guest bed?

      1. Depends on who your guests are going to be. ❤

      2. I love the feel of ironed pillowcases, no matter who’s in the bed. 🙂

  2. I so agree with you regarding “educated” people using wrong grammar. My specific rant especially goes to local Las Vegas magazine “Seven” editors putting wrong grammar on their cover!!! Really?!?! Please note: words ending in “S” (and “Z”) show possessiveness with ONLY an apostrophe–not apostrophe “S”. For that matter, I’ve never seen so many people improperly using “there, their and they’re!” These lessons came in “GRAMMAR SCHOOL”–oh, would that be an oxymoron?

    1. Please read tomorrow’s reblog. You will love it!

  3. […] Which leads me to some recent responses to a post I made about ironing pillowcases on my other blog, Retirement 365. […]

Leave a Reply

