Day 118: Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom

I’ve read a lot about Julia Child this summer and I’ve written a lot about her, too.

All you have to do is go to my search field on Got My Reservations and type in Julia Child — you’ll get a lot of links to previous posts.

I’ve even got the large-print edition of Bob Spitz’s new biography of Julia Child entitled, Dearie. At 1008 pages, I don’t think I’ll be lugging it to the gym with me. It’s going to stay on my bedside table. No, I didn’t NEED the large print; it was just what the library had available.

What I have found out in “my summer of Julia Child” is that you really only have to buy one small cookbook to get the essence of Julia’s kitchen wisdom.

Julia and her editor David Nussbaum created a kitchen Bible that has modernized and crystallized all of Julia’s essential teachings into one small volume.

What Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom doesn’t have is the formatting that Julia sweated bullets over when creating Mastering the Art of French Cooking. What it does have is Julia’s cooking notes from her loose-leaf binder that she kept in her kitchen and they are fun to read as well as to cook with.

I’m putting this cookbook on my Amazon wish list and so should you.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 responses

  1. 1008 pages!! Oh my. That’s enough to frighten me. I’m definitely catching on to the Julia obsession … after reading My Life in France I want to know EVERYTHING!

    1. Remember that’s the large print size; but the book is still a big one. I also have the letters between Julia and Avis book on my Kindle, which I will read this week in between bouts with the 652 page Frontiersman.

  2. Thanks for the tip on “Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom”. I might be putting that on my list too. I have the two volume “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” but have barely cracked the cover as it always looks too overwhelming!!

    1. I’m taking it back to the library today, so you can check it out and see what you think before you buy it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

