Day 133: Words Not to Live By

Putting aside the “women in binders” awesomeness, this political campaign is just unhealthy for our psyches.

I was reading a post about how to be happier at work which wasn’t really applicable to my little start-up, but this quote caught my eye.

Criticizing has a brother. His name is Preaching. They share the same father: Judging.

If Emeril were reading my thoughts, he’d say “BAM!” three times. I’m criticizing others in my head, I’m preaching about my own opinions to my friends, and I’m judging all the time in the name of politics. None of these behaviors is good for my health or my happiness.

When I retired, I wanted to put aside my anger, resentment, and critical thoughts, but I can’t escape the ads on television and the junk people post on Facebook (and I’m guilty of doing some sharing myself.) Pretty soon I’m going to get deluged with political mail and people will be knocking on my door trying to drum up support for their candidates. I know I could choose escapism by not going on Facebook and not watching television, but that’s not really the point. I know who I think will make the best president and outside pressures are unlikely to change that opinion.

Even writing this post is a form of electioneering and judging — I know I’m being hypocritical.

This election can’t be over soon enough.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 responses

  1. Be glad you son’t live in a swing state. I can’t tell you how many calls we get from “unknown number”, and every ad is political.

    1. I guess I didn’t mention the robo calls I get both at home and on my cell phone. Breathe… deeply.

  2. My favorite post of all time…”Your relentless political Facebook posts finally turned me around to your way of thinking”. Said nobody…ever

Leave a Reply

