Day 211: New Year’s Resolutions

I resolve to shower and dress before I go downstairs. 2012 found me in my pajamas at 4:00 in the afternoon too many days.

I resolve to wait to weigh myself until I’ve had my moment with the porcelain bowl. It makes a difference in my weight loss charting but might have been TMI to share here. I promised you honesty, though.

I resolve to use Goodreads with intention and actually write reviews. Usually I’m too eager to start the next book to take time to review the one I just finished. You can find me using the name GotMyReservations if you’re interested in what I’m reading and writing.

Seriously, folks, there are some resolutions out there on my horizon, but they’re not much different from when I started writing about retirement in June. I’m serious about weight loss and getting healthier and have two goal timelines — the trip to France in April and the wedding of my son in September. I’m still sorting and purging our stuff, even though at this point it seems as though it will take more than a year to even make a dent. On the other side of the ledger are my growth as a photographer and a writer. I’m really pleased with the changes I’ve made to Got My Reservations and the direction I’m taking with it — I hope that you are following Reservations along with Retirement 365.

I’ll leave you with a January 1 photo taken at Dawes Park in Evanston. I love the contrast between the light and dark in this photo. Happy New Year!

IMG_6432 Copyright

5 responses

  1. I have that same resolution on getting dressed when I get up instead of lounging around in ok/robe. I put it on place pre-new years though and have found it gets me going on my day and on track. So far so good and I plan to keep it!! Hope it works for you too.

  2. Oops!! Just saw my “pj/robe” entry was changed in my original comment. Will have to remember to always review my comments before I submit them as another New Years resolution.

    1. So far, so good. It also pushes the inevitable trip to breakfast back a bit since I usually do a social media check before showering. This helps with the hungry bear that inhabits my body at lunchtime — keeps him at bay for a while longer.

  3. Jennie – I think you are making great strides in your photography pursuits. One of my resolutions is to update my website “more often”. I haven’t defined “more often” yet, but I’m going to ask you for some help, as I want to use some of your photos, but want to do it properly.

    1. Thank you, Debbie. You know that all you have to do is ask…

Leave a Reply

