Day 221: Fashion Rant of the Day

On Friday I went to Costco and was so horrified by what I saw that I decided to write about it.

What, you are asking, could horrify me so?

Pleggings. OMG.

If I saw one more flabby ass in skin-tight leggings and a short shirt, I was going to have to slap the stupid woman wearing them. In other words, leggings worn as pants are NEVER acceptable in public. Even this picture of the stunning Olivia Wilde tells you that they look bad. And trust me, none of us look like Olivia Wilde — not even in our wildest dreams.

Let’s get one thing clear: if you are older than five, you are too old to wear leggings as pants.  I can’t tell you how many middle-school girls wore skin-tight pleggings to school with short shirts that didn’t cover their butt or their hoo-has. Really? Is that what their mothers and fathers wanted the middle school boys to think about all day?

I don’t hate leggings. Even I have leggings that I wear with long tunic tops and short sweater dresses. They are comfortable and appropriate for a mature woman if worn with a suitable tunic top. Apparently women wear them in France with tunics, so they must still be fashionable as well.

So ladies, get a grip. Grown-ups do not wear pleggings. Don’t let your daughters wear pleggings. End of story. And don’t even talk to me about meggings. Surely this is someone’s idea of a cruel joke.

One response

  1. And then there are “jeggings.” Chico’s has these, despite catering to women “of a certain age.” I seem to recall these in the 70s (known then simply as skin-tight jeans), and I also seem to recall them being the cause of some nasty female infections. Didn’t wear them then (when I had the figure) and certainly wouldn’t wear them now!

Leave a Reply

